Scott Adams hits it out of the park

Scott Adams’ writing has been insightful through the election campaign. I haven’t agreed with everything he has said, in particular his conclusions about who was winning at each stage. But for illumination he has been indispensable.

I enjoyed this post, from a few days ago. It is relevant to the concern we have here for clarity of thought, and not deceiving oneself:

In nearly every scenario you can imagine, the person experiencing an unlikely addition to their reality is the one hallucinating. If all observers see the same addition to their reality, it might be real. But if even one participant can’t see the phenomenon – no matter how many can – it is almost certainly not real.

Here I pause to remind new readers of this blog that I’m a trained hypnotist and a student of persuasion in all its forms. I’ve spent a lifetime trying to learn the tricks for discerning illusion from reality. And I’m here to tell you that if you are afraid that Donald Trump is a racist/sexist clown with a dangerous temperament, you have been brainwashed by the best group of brainwashers in the business right now: Team Clinton. They have cognitive psychologists such as Godzilla advising them. Allegedly.

I remind you that intelligence is not a defense against persuasion. No matter how smart you are, good persuaders can still make you see a pink elephant in a room where there is none (figuratively speaking). And Clinton’s team of persuaders has caused half of the country to see Trump as a racist/sexist Hitler with a dangerous temperament. That’s a pink elephant.

As a public service (and I mean that literally) I have been trying to unhypnotize the country on this matter for the past year. I don’t do this because I prefer Trump’s policies or because I know who would do the best job as president. I do it because our system doesn’t work if you think there is a pink elephant in the room and there is not. That isn’t real choice. That is an illusion of choice.

Trump represents what is likely to be a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to bring real change to a government that is bloated and self-serving.  Reasonable people can disagree on policies and priorities. But Trump is the bigger agent for change, if that’s what you think the country needs. I want voters to see that choice for what it is.

And it isn’t a pink elephant.

Worth reading the whole thing. It has been quite clear to me that Adams has been leaning to Trump for a while, in the last few days he has made his support more explicit. Yesterday, he laid it all out in another superb posthe laid it all out in another superb post:

Joe Biden said he wanted to take Trump behind the bleachers and beat him up. No one on Clinton’s side disavowed that call to violence because, I assume, they consider it justified hyperbole.

Team Clinton has succeeded in perpetuating one of the greatest evils I have seen in my lifetime. Her side has branded Trump supporters (40%+ of voters) as Nazis, sexists, homophobes, racists, and a few other fighting words. Their argument is built on confirmation bias and persuasion. But facts don’t matter because facts never matter in politics. What matters is that Clinton’s framing of Trump provides moral cover for any bullying behavior online or in person. No one can be a bad person for opposing Hitler, right?

Some Trump supporters online have suggested that people who intend to vote for Trump should wear their Trump hats on election day. That is a dangerous idea, and I strongly discourage it. There would be riots in the streets because we already know the bullies would attack. But on election day, inviting those attacks is an extra-dangerous idea. Violence is bad on any day, but on election day, Republicans are far more likely to unholster in an effort to protect their voting rights. Things will get wet fast.

Yes, yes, I realize Trump supporters say bad things about Clinton supporters too. I don’t defend the bad apples on either side. I’ll just point out that Trump’s message is about uniting all Americans under one flag. The Clinton message is that some Americans are good people and the other 40% are some form of deplorables, deserving of shame, vandalism, punishing taxation, and violence. She has literally turned Americans on each other. It is hard for me to imagine a worse thing for a presidential candidate to do.

I’ll say that again.

As far as I can tell, the worst thing a presidential candidate can do is turn Americans against each other. Clinton is doing that, intentionally.

Intentionally.

As I often say, I don’t know who has the best policies. I don’t know the best way to fight ISIS and I don’t know how to fix healthcare or trade deals. I don’t know which tax policies are best to lift the economy. I don’t know the best way to handle any of that stuff. (And neither do you.) But I do have a bad reaction to bullies. And I’ve reached my limit.

I hope you have too. Therefore…

I endorse Donald Trump for President of the United States because I oppose bullying in all its forms. 

I don’t defend Trump’s personal life. Neither Trump nor Clinton are role models for our children. Let’s call that a tie, at worst.

The bullies are welcome to drown in their own bile while those of us who want a better world do what we’ve been doing for hundreds of years: Work to make it better while others complain about how we’re doing it.

Today I put Trump’s odds of winning in a landslide back to 98%. Remember, I told you a few weeks ago that Trump couldn’t win unless “something changed.”

Something just changed.

A couple of points:

  1. Political violence is a serious concern. For me, it arises from a person’s believing that their side is morally in the right, and thus that anyone in opposition must necessarily be morally in the wrong. And you can do anything to stop people who are morally in the wrong, including by inflicting violence upon them – and certainly by imposing censorship on them. For some reason, the only political group which doesn’t believe itself to be morally in the right are conservatives and libertarians. They certainly believe their political positions are right, otherwise they couldn’t possibly espouse them. But they don’t then draw the conclusion that other people are morally wrong and can/must be mistreated and censored. No other group has this belief – not the extreme right, nor the extreme left, nor the centre left. They all believe in and advocate violence against their opponents. Hence the labelling of Trump as Hitler, and Hillary Clinton’s dismissal of her opponent’s supporters as ‘not American’, with all the chilling implications that that assertion carries. I don’t know why this is, but it seems to be a sound rule of thumb.
  2. I don’t know what Adams is referring to in his ‘Something’s changed’ sentence. Something has certainly changed for him – but, unless Adams plans to hypnotise every American voter, that isn’t a change that will get Trump elected. Trump I think still has a chance, but Clinton is most certainly the favourite, and will remain so regardless of whatever comes out of Wikileaks, or anywhere else. The electorate is simply too stupid and naive to comprehend the scale of her corruption and criminality, or the threat that her constant, continuous bear-baiting poses to the safety of her country. They’re just going to have to learn the hard way.

Anyway. Well done Scott Adams. And here’s to your hypnotising the entire country on the evening of November 7 – the future of civilisation may depend on it.

About Stebbing Heuer

A person interested in exploring human perception, reasoning, judgement and deciding, and in promoting clear, effective thinking and the making of good decisions.
This entry was posted in Flotsam and Jetsam, Insights, The Mind & Society, The Suicide of the West. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

