‘No true Scotsman …’ Award: Niall Ferguson kicks off for 2016

In a truly appalling wank of a ‘Trumpenfuehrer Panic!’ column, written originally for the Sunday Times but appearing in today’s Weekend Oz, celebrity historian and real life true Scotsman Niall Ferguson gives us this gem of unsound reasoning:

The tragedy is that, compared with the male politicians of an earlier generation, today’s macho politicians are not truly manly at all.

The evidence behind Ferguson’s conclusion? A single anecdote about former US secretary of state George Schultz.

I know, I know. ‘The race is not to the swift, …’ etc. In a culture such as ours, it’s the self-promoting dross wot rises to what they believe is the top.

But it at least provides me with examples for this entertaining diversion. And I can always retreat to the internet, where more interesting and more scientific discussions of the manliness of politicians can be found – with comments, and for free.

However, this may not continue. This morning, while on my way out the door to buy my copy of the Weekend Oz, I stood and debated with myself whether it really was worth the $3-50 I would spend on it. Both because the internet provides so much better writing, and because I detest putting my money in the pockets of the retards and poseurs who expect me to be satisfied with the crap that they vomit all over the broadsheets. On the strength of this week’s compilation – it’s not only Ferguson who has upset me, as you’ll find out in a subsequent post – I must say the Weekend Oz might have won the argument today, but it might not do so next week.

 

About Stebbing Heuer

A person interested in exploring human perception, reasoning, judgement and deciding, and in promoting clear, effective thinking and the making of good decisions.
This entry was posted in 'No True Scotsman' Award, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

